Dyslexia

Texas Education Code (TEC) §38.003 defines dyslexia and related disorders in the following way:

”Dyslexia” means a disorder of constitutional origin manifested by a difficulty in learning to read, write, or spell despite conventional instruction, adequate intelligence, and sociocultural opportunity.

”Related Disorders” include disorders similar to or related to dyslexia, such as developmental auditory imperception, dysphasia, specific developmental dyslexia, developmental dysgraphia, and developmental spelling disability.

TEC §38.003(d)(1)-(2)(1995)

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.38htm#38.003

The International Dyslexia Association defines “dyslexia” in the following way:

Dyslexia is a specific learning disability that is neurobiological in origin. It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. These difficulties typically result from a deficit in the phonological component of language that is often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may include problems in reading comprehension and reduced reading experience that can impede growth of vocabulary and background knowledge.

Adopted by the International Dyslexia Association Board of Directors

November 12, 2002

what_is_dyslexia_-_kelli_sandman-hurley_copy.mp4

Evaluation and Identification of Dyslexia

The Dyslexia Handbook - 2024 Update streamlines the process for identification of dyslexia and clarifies that anytime the district suspects that the student has dyslexia or a related disorder, the district must seek parental consent for a Full Individual Initial Evaluation (FIIE) under the IDEA.

Child Find is a provision in the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), a federal law that requires the state to have policies and procedures in place to ensure that every student in the state who needs special education and related services is located, identified, and evaluated. The purpose of the IDEA is to ensure that students with disabilities are offered a free and appropriate public education (20 U.S.C. §1400(d); 34 C.F.R. §300.1). Because a student suspected of having dyslexia may be a student with a disability under the IDEA, the Child Find mandate includes these students. Therefore, when referring and evaluating students suspected of having dyslexia, LEAs must follow procedures for conducting a full individual and initial evaluation (FIIE) under the IDEA. (see flowchart below - The Dyslexia Handbook, 2024 Update)



Detroit ISD logo

Detroit ISD Dyslexia Staff

Amy Bolton, CALT

abolton@detroiteagles.net

Melissa Gibson, CALT

mgibson@detroiteagles.net

903-674-3137

Prairiland ISD logo

Prairiland ISD Dyslexia Staff

Leslie Cashion

lcashion@prairiland.net

Dee Hawkes

dhawkes@prairiland.net

Allie Blount

ablount@prairiland.net

903-652-6476


Rivercrest ISD logo

Rivercrest ISD Dyslexia Staff

Krista Knelsen

kknelsen@rivercrestisd.net

Marla Ballard

mballard@rivercrestisd.net

903-632-5214

WRRSSA Dyslexia Coordinator

Della Blanton

dblanton@wrrssa.org

903-674-2244 ext. 7006

WRRSSA Assistant Dyslexia Coordinator

Paige Crawford

pcrawford@wrrssa.org

903-674-2244 ext. 7006